Government of Canada
Gouvernement du Canada

Who Can Still Call You

Registering on the National DNCL will reduce but not eliminate all unsolicited calls. There are certain kinds of calls that are exempted from the National DNCL Rules The exemptions include unsolicited calls made by, or on behalf of:
  • Canadian registered charities;
  • Political parties, riding associations and candidates;
  • Persons or entities collecting information for a survey and
  • Newspapers of general circulation, for the purpose of soliciting subscriptions.
Telemarketing calls from persons or organizations with whom you have an existing business relationship are also exempt. You are considered to have an existing business relationship with a telemarketer, or a client of a telemarketer, if you have:
  • Purchased, leased, or rented a product or service in the last eighteen (18) months from the telemarketer;
  • A written contract with the telemarketer for a service that is still in effect or expired within the last eighteen (18) months; or
  • Asked a telemarketer about a product or service within the last six (6) months.
Telemarketers may also call you if you have provided express consent to be called. Express consent includes:
  • Your permission on a written form, electronic form, or an online form; or
  • Your verbal permission, in an audio recording or verified by an independent third party.
National DNCL Rules do not apply to telemarketing calls made to businesses, including telemarketing calls made to any personal telephone number also used for business purposes.

What about calls from market research or polling firms?

Calls from individuals or organizations made solely for the purpose of market research or surveys are also exempt from the National Do Not Call List Rules and internal do not call lists are not required for this type of call pursuant to s. 41.7(5) of the Telecommunications Act.
While these calls are exempt, they are not considered telemarketing calls under the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. Under the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules, telemarketing must be for the purpose of solicitation and such calls are not for the purpose of solicitation, as defined under the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.

Providing Your Personal Information

You should be aware that by entering a contest or signing your name on a form, you may unwittingly be providing express consent to be called. This includes filling out warranty cards, service contracts or application forms.
You can also reduce unwanted unsolicited telemarketing calls by exercising care when providing your telephone number and noting what and how your information is being used.

Business-to-Business Calls are Exempt

You should also note that business-to-business calls are also exempt from National DNCL Rules The National DNCL Rules do not apply to a telemarketing telecommunication made to a business consumer. Therefore, business numbers are not to be registered on the National DNCL, including personal telephone lines that are also used for business purposes.

Organizations' Internal Do Not Call List

You may further reduce unwanted telemarketing calls by directly and expressly making a request to a telemarketer to place your number(s) on their and/or their client’s internal do not call lists. However people and organizations who are not telemarketing or soliciting, such as those making calls solely for the purpose of market research or surveys, are not required to maintain these lists.

Additional Information and Resources

Please consult our frequently asked questions section to find out more about the National DNCL. For information about the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules please see the CRTC Web site.

Qui peut encore vous appeler

L’inscription sur la LNNTE réduira les appels non sollicités, mais ne les éliminera pas entièrement. Certains types d’appels sont exemptés des Règles sur la LNNTE Les exemptions comprennent les appels non sollicités placés par les organisations qui suivent ou en leur nom:
Les appels de télémarketing effectués par des entreprises avec lesquelles vous entretenez déjà des relations d’affaires sont également exemptés. Vous êtes présumé entretenir des relations d’affaires avec un télévendeur si vous avez:
  • acheté, pris à bail ou loué un produit ou service du télévendeur dans les dix-huit (18) derniers mois;
  • un contrat écrit avec le télévendeur pour un service encore en vigueur ou qui a expiré dans les dix-huit (18) derniers mois; ou
  • demandé des renseignements au télévendeur au sujet d’un produit ou service dans les six (6) derniers mois.
Les télévendeurs peuvent également vous appeler si vous leur avez donné votre consentement exprès de le faire. Le consentement exprès inclut:
  • votre permission écrite sur un formulaire rempli à la main ou un formulaire électronique ou en ligne; ou
  • votre autorisation verbale, fournie dans un enregistrement audio ou vérifiée par un tiers indépendant.
Règles sur la LNNTE ne s’appliquent pas aux appels de télémarketing faits à des entreprises, y compris les appels de télémarketing faits à tout numéro de téléphone personnel également utilisé à des fins d’affaires.

Qu’en est-il des appels des firmes d’étude de marché et de sondage?

Les appels effectués uniquement dans le cadre d’études de marché ou de sondages sont également exemptés des Règles sur la Liste nationale de numéros de télémarketing exclus, et les personnes et les organisations qui les effectuent ne sont pas obligées de tenir une liste interne de numéros exclus pour ce type d’appels aux termes du paragraphe 41.7(5) de la Loi sur les télécommunications.
Alors que ces appels sont exemptés, ils ne sont pas jugés être des appels de télémarketing en vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. En vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, les appels de télémarketing doivent être faits aux fins de la sollicitation, et ces appels ne sont pas faits à cette fin, comme il est défini en vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées.

Communication de vos renseignements personnels

Vous devez savoir qu’en participant à un concours ou en inscrivant votre nom sur un formulaire, vous pouvez consentir à être appelé sans vous en rendre compte. Ceci s’applique aux cartes de garantie, aux contrats de service et aux formulaires de demande que vous pouvez remplir.
Vous pouvez également réduire la quantité d’appels de télémarketing non sollicités indésirables en portant attention lorsque vous fournissez votre numéro de téléphone, et en notant quels renseignements personnels sont utilisés et à quelles fins.

Les appels interentreprises sont exemptés

Vous devez également savoir que les appels interentreprises sont également exemptés des Règles sur la LNNTE Les Règles sur la LNNTE ne s’appliquent pas à une télécommunication de télémarketing placée auprès d’une entreprise. Par conséquent, les numéros d’entreprises ne sont pas inscrits sur la LNNTE, y compris les numéros de téléphone personnels qui sont également utilisés à des fins d’affaires.

Liste interne de numéros de télécommunication exclus d’organisations

Vous pouvez réduire encore plus la quantité d’appels de télémarketing non sollicités en demandant directement et expressément à un télévendeur d’inscrire votre ou vos numéros sur sa liste interne de numéros exclus. Cependant, les personnes et les organisations qui ne font pas de télémarketing ou de sollicitation, comme celles qui appellent uniquement dans le cadre d’études de marché ou de sondages, ne sont pas obligées de tenir une telle liste.

Renseignements et ressources supplémentaires

Veuillez consulter notre Foire aux questions pour en apprendre davantage sur la LNNTE. Pour des renseignements sur les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, veuillez consulter le site Web du CRTC.