Government of Canada
Gouvernement du Canada

Terms and Conditions for Telemarketer Registration

"Client of a Telemarketer"

Means a person or organization that has engaged a telemarketer to conduct telemarketing on its behalf.

"Telemarketer"

Means a person or organization that conducts telemarketing either on its own behalf or on behalf of one or more other persons or organizations.

"Applicable Privacy Laws"

Means the Privacy Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (Canada), as amended or supplemented from time to time, and any similar Canadian federal or provincial legislation now in force or that may in the future come into force governing the protection of personal information.

Complaints Investigation Registration:

In Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-6-1, Delegation of the Commission's investigative powers with regard to Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules complaints (Decision 2008-6-1), and Telecom Decision CRTC 2007-48, Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules framework and the National Do Not Call List, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) established a comprehensive framework governing unsolicited telecommunications received by consumers including a number of rules (collectively the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules). The Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules include the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) Rules, the Telemarketing Rules, and the Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device Rules (ADAD). The Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules, as amended from time to time, can be found on the CRTC's website. Pursuant to the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules, the CRTC requires that certain organizations or entities involved with unsolicited telecommunications register with the National DNCL Operator. If you fall within one of the groups listed below, you are required to register with the National DNCL Operator in order to access a subscription to the National DNCL.

Who is required to register with, and provide information to, the National DNCL Operator?

  • Telemarketers who make unsolicited telemarketing calls on their own behalf, regardless of whether or not such calls fall under the National DNCL exemptions;
  • Clients of Telemarketers on whose behalf unsolicited telemarketing calls are made regardless of whether or not the calls fall under the National DNCL exemptions;
  • Organizations downloading information from the National DNCL in order to provide services to the telemarketing industry, such as list scrubbing, whether or not they are making unsolicited telemarketing calls.
  • Any person or organization who is not one of the above but who subscribes to the National DNCL.

Who is not required to register with, and provide information to, the National DNCL Operator?

  • Telemarketers making unsolicited telemarketing calls only on behalf of Clients of Telemarketers and who are therefore not required to subscribe to the National DNCL, unless they have another need to access the National DNCL.

What information do we collect, use and disclose?

The National DNCL Operator collects, uses, and discloses information related to telemarketers, clients of telemarketers, and other persons and organizations in order to:
  • Validate identity of registrants of the National DNCL with Dun & Bradstreet®.
  • Enable subscription to the National DNCL.
  • Facilitate and manage the registration of telemarketers, or clients of telemarketers, or other persons or organizations with the National DNCL Operator.
  • Give access to the contents of the National DNCL.
  • Support other activities specifically identified at the time the information is collected. In addition, information of persons and organizations will be collected to allow for the receipt of technical assistance from the National DNCL Operator.
  • Allows the CRTC to use the collected information for monitoring and reporting purposes at an aggregate level, and to to use this information for trend analysis and training purposes.
Information will be collected by the National DNCL Operator pursuant to Decision 2008-6-1 and will be used by, and disclosed to, the CRTC as the CRTC may determine from time to time in its sole discretion. Information collected by the National DNCL Operator will be protected in accordance with Applicable Privacy Laws and will be used and disclosed by the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC, and/or its Complaints Investigator Delegate (as the case may be) to administer and enforce the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (including the National DNCL Rules), as amended by the CRTC from time to time. Information may also be disclosed to Canadian and/or foreign law enforcement agencies for the purpose of administering or enforcing any law or carrying out a lawful investigation.
The information required for registration includes:
  • Business legal name
  • Business operating name
  • Name of parent company
  • Business address
  • Business phone number
  • Business website
  • Industry
  • Number of employees
  • Number of telemarketing agents
  • Telemarketer Function (description of organization's telemarketing activities)
  • Name(s) and telephone number(s) used and displayed while making telemarketing calls
  • Account Manager contact information, including name of responsible person(s) and contact information for account and subscription management.
Information collected for subscription to the National DNCL (if applicable):
  • Type of subscription required: download or query
  • Payment type: credit card or electronic funds transfer
  • Payment transaction information, including credit card numbers and expiry dates or financial institution and bank account information that will be collected by third-party payment transaction processors in order to process payment transactions. Information provided to payment transaction processors may be disclosed to payment processors, financial institutions or other third parties only when such parties require the information to process payment transactions.
Should you be the subject of a complaint investigation, the National DNCL Operator will provide to the CRTC in addition to the above and without limitation, the following information:
  • Indication that you are a National DNCL subscriber;
  • Indication that you have downloaded the telecommunications number(s) being subject to a complaint thirty-one (31) days prior to making an unsolicited telemarketing call to such number(s);
  • Date and content (area code) of download (for download subscribers only); and
  • List of your subscription account number(s) and associated registration access number(s) (if applicable) used to download information from the National DNCL.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR REGISTRANTS:

As a registrant you may become the recipient of personal information collected from consumers by the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC or the Complaints Investigator Delegate. By registering, to the extent you are given access to personal information, you agree to make use of such personal information in accordance with the Applicable Privacy Laws and only for the purpose of complying with the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules as set out under s. 41 of the Telecommunications Act. You also agree to take such care to protect information of a proprietary or confidential nature of the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC or the Complaints Investigator Delegate as would be taken by a reasonable party to protect its own confidential information from disclosure. You are responsible as the registrant for the safekeeping and for establishing proper security and confidential processes in order to protect and avoid inappropriate use of any secured access codes or other identifiers specific to your registration (collectively the "Access Codes"). You will be responsible (including without limitation the payment of all applicable fees) for the utilization of your Access Codes, regardless of whether or not such utilization was authorized by you. You hereby acknowledge, as registrant, that the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC and its Complaints Investigator Delegate deny any and all liabilities with respect to improper utilization of your Access Codes and none of them have put in place any mechanism or process in order to ascertain whether or not the utilization of your Access Codes has been properly authorized by you or one of your representatives.

Registration Terms:

Your registration with the National DNCL Operator is valid for a period of twelve (12) months. It is the registrant’s responsibility to re-register with the National DNCL Operator annually. As a registrant, you are also responsible to maintain your contact information up to date and ensure its accuracy. We reserve the right to terminate or suspend your account at any time, without prior notice, if we believe your use of the services violates the Terms and Conditions, if your account information is incorrect or not current, if your account is in arrears, or if an account breach is suspected.

Acknowledgement:

You acknowledge and agree that the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC and/or its Complaints Investigator Delegate may introduce from time to time, upon reasonable notice, new or otherwise amended terms and conditions associated with your registration.

Disclaimer:

You agree that the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC and its Complaints Investigator Delegate will have no liability to you with respect to any damages (of whatever form or nature) you may suffer as a result of having registered with and disclosed information to the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC and/or its Complaints Investigator Delegate. Subject to any statutory warranties which cannot be excluded, the National DNCL Operator, the CRTC and its Complaints Investigator Delegate expressly disclaim any conditions or warranties (express, implied, statutory or otherwise) in such respect.

Modalités d’inscription des télévendeurs

« Client d’un télévendeur »

Désigne une personne ou une organisation qui a engagé un télévendeur pour faire du télémarketing pour son compte.

« Télévendeur »

Désigne une personne ou une organisation qui fait du télémarketing pour son compte ou au nom d’une ou de plusieurs autres personnes ou organisations.

« Lois applicables à la protection des renseignements personnels »

Désigne la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (Canada), dans leur version modifiée ou complétée de temps à autre, et toute autre législation canadienne, fédérale ou provinciale, actuellement en vigueur ou qui pourrait être en vigueur à l’avenir pour régir la protection des renseignements personnels.

Inscription aux fins des enquêtes sur les plaintes:

Dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-6-1, Délégation des pouvoirs d’enquête du Conseil concernant les plaintes déposées en vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (Décision 2008-6-1), et la Décision de télécom CRTC 2007-48, Cadre applicable aux Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées et la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (Décision 2007-48), le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a établi un cadre global régissant les télécommunications non sollicitées reçues par les consommateurs, y compris un certain nombre de règles (collectivement, les « Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées »). Les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées comprennent les Règles sur la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), les Règles de télémarketing et les Règles sur les composeurs-messagers automatiques. Les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, dans leur version modifiée de temps à autre, se trouvent sur le site Web du CRTC. En vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, le CRTC exige que certaines organisations ou entités effectuant des télécommunications non sollicitées s’inscrivent auprès de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE). Si vous faites partie de l’un des groupes mentionnés ci-dessous, vous êtes tenus de vous inscrire auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE afin de vous abonner à la LNNTE.

Qui est tenu de s’inscrire auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE et de lui fournir ses renseignements?

  • Les télévendeurs qui effectuent des appels de télémarketing non sollicités pour leur propre compte, que ces appels fassent partie ou non des exemptions à la LNNTE.
  • Les clients de télévendeurs au nom desquels des appels de télémarketing non sollicités sont effectués, peu importe que les appels fassent partie ou non des exemptions à la LNNTE.
  • Les organisations qui téléchargent des renseignements de la LNNTE dans le but de fournir des services à l’industrie du télémarketing, par exemple l’épuration de listes, que ces organisations effectuent ou non des appels de télémarketing non sollicités.
  • Toute personne ou organisation non incluse ci-dessus, mais qui est abonnée à la LNNTE.

Qui n’est pas tenu de s’inscrire auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE et de lui fournir ses renseignements?

  • Les télévendeurs qui effectuent des appels de télémarketing non sollicités uniquement au nom de clients de télévendeurs et qui ne sont, par conséquent, pas tenus de s’abonner à la LNNTE, à moins qu’ils aient autrement besoin d’accéder à la LNNTE.

Quels sont les renseignements que nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons?

L'administrateur de la LNNTE recueille, utilise et divulgue les renseignements sur les télévendeurs et leurs clients ainsi que sur les particuliers et d’autres organisations pour:
  • Valider l’identité des inscrits à la LNNTE auprès de Dun & Bradstreet®.
  • Permettre l’abonnement à la LNNTE.
  • Faciliter et gérer l'inscription des télévendeurs, de leurs clients ou de toute autre personne ou organisation auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE.
  • Donner accès au contenu de la LNNTE.
  • Permettre l’exécution d'autres activités clairement indiquées au moment de la collecte des renseignements.
  • Permettre au CRTC d’utiliser les renseignements recueillis à des fins de surveillance et d’établissement de rapports à l’échelle globale et d’utiliser ces renseignements aux fins d’analyses de tendances et de formation.
De plus, l’administrateur de la LNNTE recueillera des renseignements sur les particuliers et les organisations afin de leur offrir une assistance technique. Les renseignements seront recueillis par l’administrateur de la LNNTE en vertu de la Décision 2008-6-1 et transmis à des fins d’utilisation par le CRTC, selon ce que le CRTC pourra déterminer de temps à autre à son entière discrétion. Les renseignements recueillis par l’administrateur de la LNNTE seront tenus confidentiels, conformément aux lois applicables sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et seront utilisés et divulgués par l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC ou son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes (selon le cas) pour administrer et appliquer les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées (y compris les règles sur la LNNTE), lesquelles peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre par le CRTC. Les renseignements peuvent également être divulgués à des forces de l’ordre du Canada et d’autres pays aux fins de l’administration ou de l’application des lois ou de la tenue d’une enquête judiciaire.
Renseignements requis pour l’inscription :
  • Dénomination sociale de l’entreprise
  • Nom commercial de l’entreprise
  • Dénomination sociale de la société mère
  • Adresse de l’entreprise
  • Numéro de téléphone de l’entreprise
  • Site Web de l’entreprise
  • Industrie
  • Nombre d’employés
  • Nombre d’agents de télémarketing
  • Identification du télévendeur (description des activités de télémarketing de l’organisation)
  • Nom(s) et numéro(s) de téléphone utilisés et affichés pendant les appels de télémarketing
  • Coordonnées du chargé de compte, y compris le nom de la personne responsable et ses coordonnées aux fins de la gestion des comptes et des inscriptions.
Renseignements recueillis pour l’abonnement à la LNNTE (le cas échéant) :
  • Type d’inscription requise : téléchargement ou interrogation ponctuelle
  • Mode de paiement : carte de crédit ou transfert électronique de fonds
  • Les données de la transaction de paiement, dont le numéro de carte de crédit et sa date d’expiration ainsi que les renseignements sur l’institution financière et le compte, seront recueillies par le processeur de paiement d’une tierce partie chargée de traiter les transactions de paiement. Les renseignements transmis au processeur de paiement peuvent être divulgués aux processeurs de paiements, aux institutions financières ou à d’autres tierces parties seulement si le traitement des transactions nécessite de tels renseignements.
Si vous faites l’objet d’une enquête relativement à une plainte, l’administrateur de la LNNTE fournira au CRTC, outre l’information qui précède et sans restriction, les renseignements suivants:
  • Indication du fait que vous êtes un abonné de la LNNTE
  • Indication du fait que vous avez téléchargé le(s) numéro(s) de télécommunication faisant l’objet de la plainte trente et un (31) jours avant d’effectuer un appel de télémarketing non sollicité à ce(s) numéro(s)
  • Date et contenu (indicatif régional) du téléchargement (pour les abonnés au téléchargement seulement)
  • Liste de votre (vos) numéro(s) d’abonnement et de votre (vos) numéro(s) d’accès d’inscription connexes (s’il y a lieu) utilisés pour télécharger l’information de la LNNTE.

INFORMATION IMPORTANTE POUR LES INSCRITS:

À titre d’inscrit, il est possible que vous receviez des renseignements personnels recueillis auprès des consommateurs par l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC ou son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes. En vous inscrivant, vous convenez d’utiliser les renseignements personnels auxquels vous pourriez avoir accès conformément aux lois applicables sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et uniquement dans le but de respecter les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, telles que définies au paragraphe 41 de la Loi sur les télécommunications. Vous convenez aussi de protéger les renseignements de nature exclusive ou confidentielle de l’administrateur de la LNNTE, du CRTC ou de son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes comme le ferait toute partie raisonnable pour protéger de toute divulgation ses propres renseignements confidentiels. Vous êtes responsable, en tant qu’inscrit, de la protection et de l’établissement de la sécurité et des processus confidentiels afin de protéger et d’éviter l’utilisation inappropriée de tout code d’accès sécurisé ou de tout autre identificateur propre à votre inscription (collectivement, les « codes d’accès »). Vous serez responsable (incluant, sans s’y limiter, le paiement de tous frais applicables) de l’utilisation de vos codes d’accès, peu importe que vous ayez ou non autorisé une telle utilisation. En tant qu’inscrit, vous reconnaissez par les présentes que l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC et son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes rejettent toute responsabilité relativement à une utilisation inappropriée de vos codes d’accès et qu’aucun d’entre eux n’a mis en place de mécanisme ou de processus en vue de vérifier si vous ou l’un de vos représentants avez dûment autorisé l’utilisation desdits codes d’accès.

Modalités d’inscription:

Votre inscription auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE est en vigueur pour une période de douze (12) mois. La responsabilité de renouveler chaque année son inscription auprès de l’administrateur de la LNNTE incombe à l’inscrit. À titre d’inscrit, vous êtes également responsable de tenir vos coordonnées à jour et d’en assurer l’exactitude. Nous nous réservons le droit de mettre fin ou de suspendre votre compte en tout temps, sans préavis, si nous sommes d’avis que votre utilisation des services enfreint les modalités, si les renseignements relatifs à votre compte sont inexacts ou non à jour, si votre compte est en souffrance, ou si une violation du compte est soupçonnée.

Attestation:

Vous reconnaissez et convenez que l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC ou son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes peuvent de temps à autre, moyennant un avis raisonnable, introduire de nouvelles modalités ou modifier les modalités associées à votre inscription.

Dénégation de responsabilité :

Vous convenez que l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC et son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes n’assument aucune responsabilité envers vous relativement à tous dommages (de quelque forme ou nature que ce soit) que vous pourriez subir du fait de votre inscription et de la communication de vos renseignements à l’administrateur de la LNNTE, au CRTC ou à son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes. Sous réserve de toutes garanties prévues par la loi et ne pouvant être exclues, l’administrateur de la LNNTE, le CRTC et son enquêteur délégataire aux plaintes nient expressément toutes conditions ou garanties (expresses, implicites, prévues par la loi ou autrement) à cet égard.